What is illegal tint in Texas?

The Texas window tint law for passenger vehicles states the VLT value of the tint on the front windshield (applied above the AS-1 line), side windows in the front and back, and the rear windshield must be 25% or less.

What is the darkest legal tint in Texas?

Texas Window Tint Darkness Laws
  • Windshield: 25% VLT tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line or top 5 inches, with less than 25% reflection.
  • Front Side windows: Must allow more than 25% of light in.
  • Back Side windows: Any darkness can be used.

Is 5% tint legal in Texas?

It is legal for cars to have 5% tint on the back side windows, and 5% tinting can also be used on rear windows as long as the vehicle also has side mirrors. But, 5% tint cannot be used on the passenger window or front window (any portion). The exemptions for these laws are if the car qualifies for an exemption.

What is the illegal tint percentage in Texas?

The Lone Star State requires windshield glass to allow at least 70% of outdoor light to enter vehicles. A tinted windshield must also have a luminous reflectance level that doesn't exceed 25 percent. This number indicates the amount of light reflected by a window. Texas has banned red, amber and blue tints.

Is 70 windshield tint legal in Texas?

In Texas it is legal to add a "clear" window tint film to your front windshield. In the past you would of needed a doctor's prescription but Texas allows window tint no darker than 70% applied to your front window shield. Any window tint listed at 70% or higher is considered a "clear" film.

How to run LIMO TINT LEGALLY on your front windows in Texas

Can you get a 20% tint ticket in Texas?

The short answer is NO. In Texas, tinted windows must have a light transmittance value of at least 25%. But, this does not apply to people with a medical exemption.

Can you get off with 20 tint Texas?

The Window tint law in Texas states that you are allowed to have 25% or more VLT above the top 5 inches on the windshield. For side windows, the same - 25% or more VLT is allowed. For backside windows - any VLT is allowed. For Rear Windows - any vehicles with side mirrors are allowed to have any VLT.

Can you see through 5 percent tint?

A 5% tint is extremely dark, and you can't see through it at all. This is actually illegal in most states but is most commonly used on the back windows of limousines.

What is the darkest tint I can legally have?

Legal Window Tint
  • There are no federal laws governing windshield tint. ...
  • Window tint percentage is measured by visible light transmittance (VLT), or the amount of light passing through the windows. ...
  • Most new vehicles come with factory tint already installed. ...
  • Most manufacturer's tint will be no darker than 70 percent VLT.

What is a 70% tint?

What Is a 70% Windshield Tint? A 70% windshield tint is a tinted screen that can be fixed onto a vehicle's glass to allow a specific percentage of light, 70%, to pass through it. In other words, it's the protective section of an automobile with a Visible Light Transmission (VLT) of 70 percent.

Is 5 or 20 tint darker?

You can see through windows with a 20% tint if you're up close, but it's still difficult. Typically, it's enough to deter snoopers, though. When vehicles come with a factory tint, it's usually between 15% and 20%. A 5% is the darkest tint you can get, and you can't see through 5% tinted car windows at all.

How do you know if your tint is too dark?

Many states limit window tint to 35 percent, and some set the limit at 50 and even 70 percent. Here's the other answer: It's too dark when it diminishes your vision or you're unable to make eye contact with other people on the road.

How dark is 25 percent window tint?

25 tint is a term that is used to describe a window film that allows 25 percent visible light transmission (VLT). This means that 75% of the visible light will be blocked. Essentially, the lower the tint percentage, the less light can pass through, making 25 window tint darker than 3/4's of all other tint film options.

Is 35 or 20 tint darker?

35% tint or 20% tint, which is better? Though a 20% tint is darker and gives your car that stylish look when weighing the safety of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians, 35% is the better choice. 35% film has properties that shield you and the inside of your car from dreaded UV rays.

Is 35 a dark tint?

35% tint blocks out 65% of the light, and is considered a medium shade in the tint spectrum. For comparison, 5% tint, also known as limo tint, is is the darkest tint available by most window film manufacturers. 35% is a shade that is legal for front windows in many states, making it a very very popular shade of tint.

Can you get a ticket for dark tint in Texas?

Other Texas Car Window Tint Laws to Know

Under 2021 Texas tint regulations, there are no banned colors of window tint on the side windows or rear window of vehicles, but you cannot use blue, red, or amber window tint on the front windshield.

Is 20 percent tint too dark?

The Law Also Varies With Window Location

For instance, California has strict limits on how dark a car's tinted windows may be. Tint laws allow for front side windows to have a minimal VLT of 70%, meaning it will let through 70% of available light while only blocking 30%.

Is 30% a dark tint?

Is 30 percent tint dark? A vehicle with a 30% tint will give you a darker appearance but is still very easy to see through making it one of the most popular tint shades. It is considered a medium shade as it is right between 5% which is the darkest and 50% which is a very light tint and considered clear by most.

What is the darkest tint called?

Octane is the Darkest Window Tint Available

There are other benefits to having Octane (which is the darkest tint available) installed too; Blocks heat & glare for a more comfortable drive. Blocks 99% UV rays for solar protection.

Why is it called 5% tint?

5% tint darkness means that the tinted window only allows 5% of the light to pass through the treated glass, which means, of course, that it is rejecting 95% of the visible light spectrum.

Will I fail my Texas state inspection with tint?

Inspection stations use a tint meter to check if your tint is legal. If it's not you will fail inspection, so remember, make sure your tint allows at least 25% light transmission and less than 25% reflectance. “These windows are completely exempted from regulation under the Texas Transportation Code.”

Can you fail inspection for tint Texas?

Window Tint Standards can be found in the Texas Administrative Code, Title 37, Part 1, Rule 21.3. NOTE: Windows immediately to the right and left of the driver that have less than 25% light transmission will fail inspection, regardless of the model year of the vehicle.

Does a tint ticket affect insurance Texas?

A window tint ticket can affect your car insurance rate, just like any other violation on your record.